FAQ About the Dominican Friars’ History

Facts, Histories & More

How many Dominican are there?

As of 2012 there were over 6,000 Dominican friars and 1,000 men studying for the priesthood.


What are the names of the Dominicans who became Pope?

There have been four Dominican Popes in the History of the Church, all four have been raised to the altars…

  • Blessed Pope Innocent V (c. 1225 – 22 June 1276)
  • Blessed Pope Benedict XI (1240 – 7 July 1304)
  • Saint Pope Pius V (17 January 1504 – 1 May 1572)
  • Servant of God Pope Benedict XIII (2 February 1650 – 21 February 1730

Who founded the first Dominican Province in the United States?

The Dominican Province of St. Joseph was founded in 1805 by Fr. Edward Dominic Fenwick, OP.

St. Vincent Ferrer's Church in New York City.
St. Vincent Ferrer’s Church in New York City

Who is the patron saint of builders?

St. Vincent Ferrer (1350-1419)
Spanish, priest, celebrated itinerant preacher and ascetic, canonized 1455.

Who was the first university chaplain for the Dominicans?

Bl. Jordan of Saxony (1185-1237)
German, priest, renowned preacher, diplomat, successor of St. Dominic as Master of the Order, effective promoter of Dominican vocations, patron of Dominican vocation work.

Who was the founder of the Polish Province?

St. Hyacinth Odrowatz (1187-1257)
Polish, priest, brother of Bl. Ceslaus (July 17), one of first Dominicans, missionary to Slavs and Nordics, Church appointed patron of Poland, canonized 1594.